With Ears To See And Eyes To Hear


With Ears To See And Eyes To Hear

Sleeping With Sirens is a relatively new band. They formed in 2009 and have made a few line-up changes since. Of course, I know that none of colleagues here at Renegade Ink are really into metal like I am, but if you’re looking at getting into the hardcore/metal scene, Sleeping With Sirens is a nice band to start with. With Ears To See And Eyes To Hear was their first studio effort and was released in March of 2010. Why am I only reviewing this album now? Well, I make it a point to not review albums too soon after they have been released. I know that it has been a year and then some since this album was released, but I often judge bands too quickly.

The album features 10 tracks, all of which sound similar to one another. I don’t mean this in an offensive way of any sort, but it’s hard not to do when you play metal. These guys don’t totally fit in the metal genre though. That’s what is so interesting about them and their sound. There isn’t too much screaming on this album, haha. Their instrumentation is a post-hardcore and metalcore kind of mix. They add a techno/dubstep element to some of their songs, but it isn’t annoying or unbearable.Their vocals are different though. It’s refreshing to hear, especially since I listen to heavier bands. As a whole, I don’t think the album stands very well. The songs all do well individually though. You never want to be listening to an album and wondering if you’ve been listening to the same song for the last 40 minutes, y’know? That’s the way I feel whenever I play these 10 songs on my iPod.

Lyrically speaking, they’ve got some work to do. Of course, I shouldn’t really be talking considering that the lyrics I’ve written embody the worst cliches ever. Still, Sleeping With Sirens write about the usual things that most bands write about: heartbreak. It’s a little tiring to hear the same words and phrases sung/screamed over and over again throughout the album, but oh well. Kudos to these guys for getting their music out there and recording albums. I know that they’ve got a following and I certainly can say that I’m a little jealous of them.

I’ll leave you guys with two links. The second one will feature one of their more radio friendly songs, for those of you that don’t enjoy or listen to metal.

EDIT: I just thought that I should make it clear that I’m not gonna be leaving numerical ratings on the albums/movies that I write about. My reviews aren’t exactly reviews (stupid, I know). I’ve been in the music business before and know better than to tear down or gush over a band on a blog. Instead, I’ll comment on their work and what I think that they might be able to work on. Sorry if my first post seemed more like rambling, haha.

3 thoughts on “With Ears To See And Eyes To Hear

  1. Im not a big fan of heavy metal songs, but wow, I really love the drumming and the voice [which sounds like insane screaming to me] LOL!

    • I’m not a fan either but I really, really liked how “lot love bleed red” sounded. It’s something I’d listen to. Thanks for sharing! (:

Love it or hate it?

