you’ll never know unless you try. (4)


Just sign the letter. It might lead to something good.

She was crazy. She seriously thought I had a shot at making the Crimson Tide‘s squad?

You’ll never know unless you try. C’mon, it’s a huge opportunity!

Let’s backtrack here. Before this whole emotional fiasco and before the season was over, I was scouted. I can’t lie, I felt like the man when I was approached. I was only scouted by one school though, the University of Alabama. Sure, I seriously wanted a chance at going pro, but what chance did I really have in America? After all, I only stand at something like 5″7.

I don’t know, Anne. What chance do I stand against kids that were bred to play football? Look at them! They’re all 6″2 at the least! Some of these guys look like they’ve been eating steroids since they were 12 years old! I’ll get demolished…

Hey, if they think you’re good enough to be offered something, then they must think highly of you and your abilities. I mean, they came all the way out to Toronto to watch you play. Don’t you think it’s worth a shot?

She was right. How often can you say that you’re a prospect for a big time football school? If I was going to sign a letter of intent, it was gonna be for UA…still, I couldn’t get myself to put the pen to the dotted line.

I think that maybe we should sleep on this. Let’s head back to the hotel. At least they’re paying for our trip here. May as well enjoy a couple of movies and a nice dinner before we leave, huh?

She gave me a look that said, “Oh my god, you’re such a wuss.” You know what I mean? I’m sure everybody’s at least gotten that look once from somebody else. But she picked up her things and tried to smile at me anyhow. I went over and shook coach Saban’s hand. I let him know that I was gonna be back in the morning. In his Southern drawl, I think he said something like “I suppose we’ll see y’all in the mornin’. Better be here to take a few snaps at half, okay?” but I couldn’t really tell. I just nodded politely and walked away.

We laid down on the bed. It was 8:45PM and I was being a total party pooper. I could tell that Anne was getting restless just hanging out inside a hotel room.

Soooooo…what do you wanna do? I mean, we are alone in this hotel room…

Yeah…hey, check that out! They’ve got a James Bond marathon playing! 

She let out a huge sigh of frustration. She picked up the phone and called room service.

Hey there, I was just wondering if you guys at the front desk have any suggestions in terms of night life here? Like, any awesome restaurants you could point me and my boyfriend towards? Uh huh…okay…could you give me the direct-…uh huh. Okay, thank you!

She hung up and walked in front of the television set.

Time to go. Either you’re staying here or you’re letting me explore Tuscaloosa all by my lonesome. C’mon, don’t be an old man. You know we’d make a cute country bumpkin couple.

She put on a Southern accent and said…

C’mon Mr. Safety-Of-The-Year. Or I mean, Mr. Running-Back-To-Be. We might as well see if we like ‘Bama enough to play here. Maybe we could wrangle up some pals and drink some moonshine or something!

She finished off her appeal with a wink. I stared at her for a bit. A million things ran through my mind. It’s weird how quickly the human brain works and how much information it can actually process in a matter of seconds. First, I smiled. She did sound pretty cute whenever she put accents on. But then my face changed rather quickly…it had just occurred to me that she said “we”. Then my brain decided to mess with me again and point out that when she was on the phone with the front desk, she said “me and my boyfriend”. There were two things wrong with that…

It’s supposed to be my boyfriend and I. She was never really great with some of her papers anyhow.

And…for the first time, I felt really trapped. She had pointed out all of the facts to make me uncomfortable without either one of us noticing any of it.

1. We were alone in Alabama on a recruiting trip.

2. We had a hotel room all to ourselves and no cap on the amount of money we wanted to spend (of course, I kept it within reason as much as I possibly could).

3. She was insistent that “we” went out and tried everything as a couple.

4. She called me her boyfriend.

I wanted all of the glitz and glamour that came with being in a relationship. Seriously, I did. But it was all becoming too real too fast. Anne was always against me calling her my girlfriend, but I guess she had finally just accepted it…or maybe she wanted it too and this was her way of letting me know that.

I got up and tossed the remote by the desk. I went over to her and gave her a hug. She gave me a kiss on the cheek. I kissed her cheek and her neck. She tried not to make a big deal of it, but I heard her let out the smallest of gasps. When I pulled away, her facial expression was different.

Or we could just stay in this room.

I laughed. I didn’t know that the slightest of my actions could throw off her thoughts so easily.

You can’t just start me up like that! You can’t just tease like that!

She picked up one of the instant coffee packages and threw it at me. We both started laughing. She walked over to the pile of things that UA had already given me.

Would you look at that. Such a shame that they didn’t have #32 available. Looks like you’ll be wearing #30 now.

She took off her shirt and put on the jersey instead.

So, what do you say? Time to paint the city red? I mean, crimson. 

You’ll never know unless you try, right?

Love it or hate it?

