Satisfaction.


“Life loses its dynamism from the moment we lose the passion with which to live it. “

Image

What does one need to live and to be happy?

Money? Family? Luxury? Friends? I’m not talking about the basic necessities that one needs in order to live and lead a healthy life. I think ultimately what we need in order to lead a happy life is satisfaction with one’s life. At the end of the day if you can justify your actions and being to yourself in a way that it satisfies you then that’s all you really need…everything else just ties in with that.

You can have the money, family and friends that love and support you and that you love and support too, tangible goods and other luxuries…but what good is any of that if at the end of the day you’re sad anyways. I know I have all this, and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t need it. I’m not materialistic, but I’d be a liar if I said I didn’t need money…much of everything we do and need revolves around it – it buys me things I need AND make me happy. I have a few good friends, and a family that loves me too.

What’s missing?

I’m happy; I am…most of the time, at least.

Okay…I’m lying. I’m not, I’m happy sometimes…and the rest of the time I’m just really not. I’m not happy with the quality of my life, and I’m beginning to think my existence is a waste of space and oxygen really. I’m having a very hard time justifying my life these days. That’s why I say what we really need is satisfaction with one’s life…because I know there are so many girls that would die to be in my place, and would be ecstatic leading the life that I am because they’ve been raised that way.

You get married, you dedicated the rest of your life and existence to making your husband happy and being a typical housewife and eventually a super-mom….and that’s it.

See there’s nothing wrong with that if doing all of that makes you happy…it’s just that I’ve always wanted more from life, this part of my life was supposed to come after and I feel like I skipped a whole lot in the middle. I don’t mind doing all that, I really don’t its why I got married in the first place…I’d love to make him happy and be super-mom some day, heck I love kids, I want four one day. The problem is that I’m not happy doing JUST this, there needs to be more.

I don’t want to define myself as someone’s wife, or mom, or so and so…that’s it right there.  There was a purpose, and there was a plan, and a morning drill and my day revolved around ME and what I wanted to do.

(Seeing as this rant could go on forever…let me try to sum it up)

BASICALLY…where I was going with this is that I need to come back, go back to school and do something with my life. NOT because we need all that to make US happy, but because I need to do all that to make myself happy – happiness varies from person to person, and how we’ve been conditioned and our outlook.

Self-actualization and inner satisfaction: much needed at any stage in your life!

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , by Rukhsar Zaidi. Bookmark the permalink.

About Rukhsar Zaidi

Hello beautiful people! My name is Rukhsar Zaidi. I am a full time business student, part time blogger and an aspiring business owner and business professional. My blog is my self-expression and also a way of letting off some steam. I pretty much write about my life, things that bother me or things that I care about - in hope to both help myself figure life out one post at a time, and reach as many people as I can through my writing. I'm just an [extra]ordinary girl with extraordinary dreams, tryna find my place in the world and something constant in a constantly changing world. I'm extremely opinionated, super friendly and absolutely love getting to know new people. If that sounds like you too, give me a shout. I would love to connect with you!

6 thoughts on “Satisfaction.

  1. You can’t make anyone else happy if you’re not. The love of a selfish (and I mean that in a positive context) is the best love of all. Mother’s need to take care of themselves more than they do. Also, being a mother is not the only thing that defines a woman, children grow up, you have to have your own identity too. I hate that our society makes it seem otherwise. Yes, you should be mature, yes, your kid should be major focus, and yes, you should give it your best when raising a child but still! Also, happiness is not a guarantee, you gotta make it happen 🙂 Go for it!

    • That’s it right there…you can’t make anyone else happy until you’re not, just like you can’t allow anyone else to love you until you don’t love yourself. I think I’ve learnt that the hard way…but you’re right, thank you for your thoughts! Sometimes I think happiness is over rated, haha. (blah)

      • Blue moods can be introspective. Look at the craziness how can we be happy all the time? I don’t expect it, and when I stopped being dissappointed about things, I started being happier. I think that’s just part of getting older. You’re so welcome. I love this topic

      • Sometimes there is more ‘bad’ then there is ‘good’, and the sadness overshadows all the reasons to be happy..and the disapointment sets in even when you don’t want it to. Sometimes we need to convince ourselves of reasons to be happy and look for excuses, but honestly at times that’s just too much of an effort. It really shouldn’t be that hard, maybe we just complicate it for ourselves.

  2. Sounds to me like you got a case of ennui. I prescribe ice cream and Bollywood movies.
    Nah, but seriously, I think you feel this way because that’s how marriage makes you feel, at least initially. When you make a big, life-changing decision – whether in love, school, work, whatever – you tend to see things as determined, unchanging, set in stone, as though you’re going to be a certain way for the rest of your life. But you can’t predict the future like that, and I think you’ll find life has much more to offer you.
    I think you need to work out what you want and then go for it. 😀

    • A case of ennui, I think you’re absolutely right…I’ve been so out of the loop, and trying to figure out where to go from here just makes me nervous and lost. & it really doesn’t help when everyone you’re surrounded with is wishing against yours! 😦 I think I’m having a mid-life crisis before mid-life =p lol. Thanks though, for reading and offering your thoughts & advice! much appreciated 🙂 seriously.

Love it or hate it?

